State Profiles

State agencies play a role in building a state infrastructure to support local OFRs. Find each state’s point of contact information below.

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Mariyam Javed, Public Health Analyst, Gulf Coast HIDTA, mariyam.javed@adph.state.al.us
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agency: Office of Substance Misuse and Addiction Prevention​
State Contact: Theresa Welton, Unit Manager, Office of Substance Misuse and Addiction Prevention, theresa.welton@alaska.gov
Funding: BJA CDC
Established: 2020
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: Yes

Agency: Arizona Department of Health Services
State Contact: Maritza Valenzuela, Office Chief, Injury and Violence Prevention, Arizona Department of Health Services, maritza.valenzuela@azdhs.gov
Funding: CDC SAMHSA
Established: 2017
Local OFRs: Yes (10)
State OFR: Yes

Agency: Arkansas Department of Health
State Contact: Jamie Turpin, Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Administrator, Arkansas Department of Health, jamie.turpin@arkansas.gov
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agency: California Department of Public Health
State Contact: Jane Beal, Chief, Partnership and Community Engagement Unit in the Substance and Addiction Prevention Branch, California Department of Public Health, jane.beal@cdph.ca.gov
Funding: CDC
Established: 2020
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (1)
State OFR: No

Agency: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
State Contact: Alicia Haywood, Deputy Director, Prevention Services Division, Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, alicia.haywood@state.co.us​​
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agencies: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Injury and Violence Prevention Unit and Connecticut Office of the Chief Medical Examiner (OCME)
State Contact: Shauna Lee Pangilinan, OFR Coordinator and OCME Family Navigator, Connecticut Department of Public Health, Injury and Violence Prevention Unit and Connecticut Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, shauna.pangilinan@ct.gov ​​
Funding: CDC
Established: 2021
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: Yes

Agency: Delaware Department of Justice
State Contact: Julia Lawes, Executive Director of the Delaware Drug Overdose Fatality Review Commission, julia.lawes@delaware.gov
Funding: None
Established: 2019
Local OFRs: Yes (2)
State OFR: Yes

Agency: N/A
State Contact: N/A
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agency: Overdose Response Strategy Program/Atlanta-Carolinas High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas
State Contact: Katy Freund, Public Health Analyst, ORS/Atlanta-Carolinas HIDTA, kfreund@achidta.org
Funding: None
Established: 2019
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (2)
State OFR: No

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Aashish Hemrajani, Public Health Analyst, Hawaii HIDTA, ahemrajani@hi-hidta.org
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Karyn Kershaw, Public Health Analyst, CDC Foundation, karyn.kershaw@dhw.idaho.gov
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agencies: Illinois Department of Human Services (IDHS) and Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH)
State Contact: Amanda Lake, SUD Senior Policy Advisor, Illinois Health Department, amanda.lake@Illinois.gov
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (2)
State OFR: Yes

Agency: Indiana Department of Health
State Contact: Caitlyn Short, Suicide and Overdose Fatality Review Program Manager, Indiana Department of Health, cshort1@health.in.gov
Funding: CDC
Established: 2018
Local OFRs: Yes (28)
State OFR: No

Agency: Midwest High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas
State Contact: Kevin Winker, Drug Intelligence Officer, Midwest HIDTA, kwinker@midwest-hidta.org
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Julia Baughman, Program Manager, Kansas Department of Health and Environment, julia.n.baughman@ks.gov
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (1)
State OFR: No

Agency: Overdose Response Strategy, CDC Foundation
State Contact: Jaelin Southerling, Public Health Analyst, Overdose Response Strategy Jaelin.Southerling@uky.edu
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Theresa Pham, Public Health Analyst, CDC Foundation’s Overdose Response Strategy, theresa.pham@la.gov
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agencies: Office of the Maine Attorney General, Governor’s Office of Policy Innovation and the Future, Office of Chief Medical Examiner, Department of Health and Human Services, Maine Office of Behavioral Health, Department of Public Safety, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Supreme Judicial Court, Statewide Association of Prosecutors, Statewide Association of Police Chiefs, Statewide Association of Sheriffs, and Maine Emergency Medical Services
State Contact: Gordon Smith, Director of Opioid Response, Governor’s Office of Policy Innovation and the Future, gordon.smith@maine.gov
Funding: Office of the Maine Attorney General
Established: 2021
Legislation: Yes, (Title 5, Section 200 – M (2021))
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: Yes

Agencies: Office of Population Health Improvement, and Public Health Services
State Contact: Brooke Holmes, Program Administrator, Maryland Department of Health, mdh.ofr@maryland.gov or brooke.holmes@maryland.gov
Funding: ARPA
Established: 2014
Legislation: Yes, 2014 (MDH OFR Statute)
Local OFRs: Yes (23)
State OFR: No

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Amanda Consigli, Public Health Analyst, New England HIDTA, aconsigli@nehidta.org
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agencies: Michigan Public Health Institute and Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
State Contact: Alicia Goodman, Public Health Coordinator, MDHHS, goodmana3@michigan.gov
Funding: BJA CDC
Established: 2020
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (6)
State OFR: No, but we do have a state advisory group

Agency: Minnesota Department of Health
State Contact: Pearl Evans, Prevention Program Administrator, Minnesota Department of Health, pearl.evans@state.mn.us
Funding: BJA CDC
Established: 2019
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (7)
State OFR: No

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Stacy Miller, Public Health Analyst, CDC Foundation, millera@gchidta.org
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Lynn Smith, Opioid Response Coordinator, Section for Disease Prevention, Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services, lynn.smith@health.mo.gov
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (1)
State OFR: No

Agency: Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services
State Contact: Melinda Reed, Prevention Specialist - Opioids, Department of Public Health and Human Services, melinda.reed@mt.gov
Funding: CDC State
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agencies: Douglas County Health Department and Coalition RX
State Contact: Patty Falcone, Health Promotion Supervisor Douglas Couty Health Department, patty.falcone@douglascounty-ne.gov
Funding: County Funding
Established: 2021
Local OFRs: Yes (1)
State OFR: Yes

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Terry Kerns, Substance Abuse/Law Enforcement Coordinator, Nevada Office of the Attorney General, tkerns@ag.nv.gov
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agency: Department of Human and Health Services
State Contact: David Mara, Governor’s Advisor on Addiction and Behavioral Health, Office of Governor Sununu, david.j.mara@nh.gov
Funding: State Opioid Response (SOR) funds were used to contract with the University of New Hampshire to provide technical assistance and support. ​
Established: 2020
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: Yes

Agency: New Jersey Department of Health
State Contact: Jessica Atkinson, Grant Coordinator, Overdose Fatality Review Teams, New Jersey Department Of Health, jessica.atkinson@doh.nj.gov
Funding: CDC State
Established: 2017
Local OFRs: Yes (22)
State OFR: No

Agencies: New Mexico Department of Health, New Mexico Corrections Department, Office of Medical Investigator, and the Behavioral Health Services Division of the Human Services Department
State Contact: Kathryn Lowerre, Section Head Overdose Prevention, New Mexico Department of Health, kathryn.lowerre@doh.nm.gov
Funding: CDC
Established: 2021
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agencies: New York Department of Health, New York/New Jersey High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA)
State Contact: Elizabeth Girolami, OD2A LHD Senior Program Coordinator, New York Department of Health, elizabeth.girolami@health.ny.gov
Funding: None
Established: 2016
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (15)
State OFR: No

Agency: N/A
State Contact: N/A
Funding: N/A
Established:
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: N/A
State OFR: N/A

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Charlotte Williams, Public Health Analyst, Midwest HIDTA, cwilliams@midwest-hidta.org
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agency: Ohio Department of Health
State Contact: Stacy Ell, Health Service Policy Analyst, Ohio Department of Health, Violence and Injury Prevention Section, stacy.ell@odh.ohio.gov
Funding: BJA CDC State
Established: 2011
Local OFRs: Yes (24)
State OFR: No

Agency: Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
State Contact: Megan Wurzer, Prevention Program Manager, Oklahoma Department of Mental Health & Substance Abuse Services, megan.wurzer@odmhsas.org
Funding: None
Established: 2018
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: Yes

Agency: Oregon Health Authority
State Contact: Savanna Santarpio, Oregon Overdose Response & Fatality Review Coordinator, Oregon Health Authority, savanna.santarpio@oha.oregon.gov​
Funding: CDC
Established: 2023
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes, piloting (1)
State OFR: No

Agency: Pennsylvania Department of Health
State Contact: Office of Drug Surveillance and Misuse Prevention, ra-dhodsdeathreivew@pa.gov
Funding: Local funding varies by jurisdiction
Established: N/A
Legislation: Yes, 2022 (PA Act 101 of 2022)
Local OFRs: Yes (12)
State OFR: No

Agency: Rhode Island Department of Health
State Contact: Heather Seger, Clinical Systems Coordinator and OFR Lead, Rhode Island Department of Health, heather.seger@health.ri.gov
Funding: CDC
Established: 2016
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: Yes

Agency: Overdose Response Strategy, CDC Foundation
State Contact: John Saager, Drug Intelligence Officer, South Carolina Atlanta-Carolinas HIDTA, jsaager@achidta.org
Funding: None (NACCHO ORS pilot project grant for county-based OFR 2020–2021; now county-supported discretion)
Established: 2018
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (6)
State OFR: No

Agency: N/A
State Contact: Matt Tribble, Public Health Analyst, CDC Foundation, matthew.tribble@state.sd.us
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agencies: Overdose Response Strategy, CDC Foundation, Tennessee Department of Health
State Contact: Trevor Henderson, Tennessee Public Health Analyst, Overdose Response Strategy, CDC Foundation, trevor.henderson@tn.gov
Funding: None
Established: 2020
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (2)
State OFR: No

Agency: West Texas Overdose Response Strategy
State Contact: Elisa Sierra, West Texas Public Health Analyst, West Texas PHA, CDC Foundation, esierra@cdcfoundation.org
Funding: None
Established: 2022
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (1)
State OFR: No

Agency: Utah Department of Health and Human Services
State Contact: Kacy Robinson, Fatality Review Specialist, Utah Department of Health and Human Services, kacymr@utah.gov
Funding: CDC State
Established: 2018
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: Yes

Agency: Department of Health, and Office of the Chief Medical Examiner
State Contact: Dr. Ryan Diduk-Smith, Director, Division of Death Prevention, Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, ryan.diduk@vdh.virginia.gov
Funding: None
Established: 2018
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agencies: Department of Health, and Office of the Chief Medical Examine
State Contact: Dr. Ryan Diduk-Smith, Director, Division of Death Prevention at the Office of Chief Medical Examiner, ryan.diduk@vdh.virginia.gov
Funding: None
Established: 2018
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agency: Washington State Department of Health
State Contact: Anjali Shankar, Overdose Prevention Technical Specialist, Washington State Department of Health, anjali.shankar@doh.wa.gov
Funding: State
Established: 2022
Legislation: Yes, 2022 (RCW 70.05.210)
Local OFRs: Yes (3)
State OFR: No

Agency: N/A
State Contact: N/A
Funding: None
Established: N/A
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: No

Agencies: Division of Public Health, Department of Human Services, and U.S. Department of Justice
State Contact: Lisa Bullard-Cawthorne, Overdose Data to Action Program Planning Coordinator, Wisconsin DHS, lisa.bullardcawthorne@dhs.wisconsin.gov
Funding: BJA CDC
Established: 2016
Legislation: Proposed
Local OFRs: Yes (26)
State OFR: Yes

Agencies: Cheyenne Regional Medical Center (CRMC) and the Laramie County Coroner's Office
State Contact: Hailey Hayden, Public Health Analyst, CDC Foundation, hailey.hayden@wyo.gov
Funding: None
Established: 2022
Legislation: No
Local OFRs: Yes (1)
State OFR: Yes

Agencies: District of Columbia Government, and District of Columbia Office of the Chief Medical Examiner
State Contact: Jenna Beebe-Aryee, Supervisory Fatality Review Program Manager, DC Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, jenna.beebe-aryee@dc.gov
Funding: Local Funding
Established: 2019
Local OFRs: No
State OFR: Yes

Interested in learning more about states' support of OFR?

TTA Request